LibGuides: Author's Toolkit: A Guide to Thesis Preparation: Publishing

Submitting Articles for Publication

These resources provide information about journals and publishers.

Journal/Author Name Estimator (JANE)
- This link opens in a new window
JANE is easy to use tool for finding journals that might be a good fit for your manuscript. Just enter the title and/or abstract of the paper in the box, and click on “Find journals.” Jane will then compare your document references in Medline to find the best matching journals. Article and author searches are also available. Open Access publications are highlighted.
Manuscript Matcher
From Web of Science, Manuscript Matcher helps you find journals related to the topic of your manuscript. Just enter the title and abstract of your paper. Manuscript Matcher will compare your document to articles indexed in Web of Science to find the best matching journals.
EndNote users can access Manuscript Matcher in EndNote Online.

more... less...

Access if free, but registration is required.

PubsHub
- This link opens in a new window
PubsHub helps researchers and clinicians decide where to publish. Biomedical journal information includes: Impact Factors, Eigenfactors, time to acceptance, rejection rate submission criteria, editorial and submission information including phone numbers and email address, publication turnaround times, etc. Conference information includes: meeting frequency, dates and locations, sponsorship and whether abstracts are published.

Think Check Submit
Helps researchers identify trusted journals and publishers for their research. Through a range of tools and practical resources, this international, cross-sector initiative aims to educate researchers, promote integrity, and build trust in credible research and publications.

Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
- This link opens in a new window
Lets users evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 8,400 scholarly and technical journals. They show the most frequently cited journals in a field, highest impact journals in a field, and the largest journals in a field.

Includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences. Updated annually.

Bibliometrics Research Guide
Scholarly metrics attempt to measure the impact of an article, author or journal. Metrics can help make decisions about where to publish and in seeking mentors and collaborators. This Research Guide describes various forms of metric, their uses, as well as advantages and disadvantages.

Creative Commons
A nonprofit corporation dedicated to making it easier for people to share and build upon the work of others, consistent with the rules of copyright.

They provide free licenses and other legal tools to mark creative work with the freedom the creator wants it to carry, so others can share, remix, use commercially, or any combination thereof.
Open Access from Scholarly Publishing & Academic Resources Coalition (SPARC)
Links and resources available below may be useful for those interested in pursuing open access publication or advocating for open access to others
Open Access Overview
A thorough introduction and resources

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
A community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.

Go to the Graduate School for the official guidelines on submitting your thesis or dissertation.