Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NIH Public Access Policy: My Bibliography

Step by step instructions regarding the NIH policy for Einstein staff, faculty and researchers.

Need Help?

Contact Us

 

Email your question.


Call: 718.430.3104


Text us Text: 718.407.0761


Library FAQs

My Bibliography: Public Access Compliance

My Bibliography

Summary


Project Investigators and Program Directors are required to use the My Bibliography feature in My NCBI to develop lists of their publications.

Essentially, researchers must use PubMed and PubMed Central records to quickly import publication information to My Bibliography. Researchers can also manually enter citation information in My Bibliography for records that do not appear in PubMed and for conference presentations, patents, etc. References saved in My Bibliography will automatically appear in users’ eRA Commons accounts.

Required actions

  1. If not already established, Project Directors and PIs must establish a My NCBI account to gain access to My Bibliography.
  2. My NCBI accounts must be linked to eRA Commons accounts.
  3. As of July 23, 2010, eRA Commons no longer support manual entry of citations. PD/PIs cannot type or copy and paste citation data into Commons and must enter new citations into their My NCBI accounts.
  4. As of October 22, 2010 eRA Commons no longer displays citations that a PI has manually entered into Commons. All citations previously entered manually into Commons have been removed from the Commons system. Therefore, these citations must be added to MyBibliography so that they will continue to appear in Commons and can be associated with future annual progress reports.

Resources to learn more

 

Adding References to My Bibliography and Other Citations

There are three ways to update publications lists in NCBI’s My Bibliography and Other Citations. After signing on to My NCBI, click Manage My Bibliography to access these tools.

  • Add from PubMed: A search and select tool to add citations from PubMed
  • Add manually: A useful tool for adding publications that are not indexed in PubMed
  • Upload a file: The ability to upload a batch of citations in either MEDLINE or RIS format

Add Citations

Add from PubMed allows users to search PubMed by author, award number or text word for their own publications or other publications supported by their grants. Search results can be easily imported into My Bibliography or Other Citations.

Add from PubMed

The option to add a citation manually is a great way to incorporate many types of publications into My Bibliography, including books and chapters, meeting abstracts, presentations, patents, datasets or databases or software.

Users of citation managers such as EndNote, RefWorks, Mendeley, and Zotero can export selected citations from their libraries in a file using MEDLINE or RIS (Research Information Systems) formatting and then upload the file into My Bibliography or Other Citations using the Upload a file tool. This feature is useful for adding publications that are not indexed in PubMed.

upload a file