Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote

Compare

Mendeley

Mendeley is a free citation management tool that can be accessed on the web or installed on a computer.  The desktop version is available for Windows, Mac, and Linux.  Sync your Mendeley database across multiple computers.

 Learn more about Mendeley.

SciWheel (formerly F1000 Workspace)

Sciwheel

Sciwheel is a platform for scientists to collect, write & discuss scientific literature. References and full-text PDFs can be imported from databases such as PubMed. Sciwheel also includes tools for annotating and sharing PDFs. The plugin for Microsoft Word allows users to insert citations into documents and create formatted bibliographies. To enable roaming access, use your Einstein email address when creating your account.

Learn more about Sciwheel.

RefWorks

RefWorks is a web-based citation management tool.  The D. Samuel Gottesman Library has a subscription.  It is available from on campus and remotely (with remote access ID and password).

  • Gather references from many online resources.
  • Save article PDFs
  • Format references into bibliographies and papers
  • Share references with colleagues
There are two versions of RefWorks

Legacy RefWorks is the classic interface most long-time RefWorks users are familiar with. Legacy RefWorks will continue to be supported.

New RefWorks has a streamlined, responsively-designed interface. You MUST use your institutional ID to create an account. It easy to export all of your references, file attachments, and folders from Legacy RefWorks. 

Learn more about RefWorks.

Zotero

Zotero is a free citation management tool that allows users to collect, manage and cite research resources. Users can also create collections/libraries for specific research projects, share data with collaborators, and generate bibliographies.

Learn more about Zotero.