Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CRTP: EndNote & Citation Management

Compare

Mendeley

Mendeley is a free citation management tool that can be accessed on the web or installed on a computer.  The desktop version is available for Windows, Mac, and Linux.  Sync your Mendeley database across multiple computers.

 Learn more about Mendeley.

RefWorks

RefWorks is a web-based citation management tool.  The D. Samuel Gottesman Library has a subscription.  It is available from on campus and remotely (with remote access ID and password).

  • Gather references from many online resources.
  • Save article PDFs
  • Format references into bibliographies and papers
  • Share references with colleagues
There are two versions of RefWorks

Legacy RefWorks is the classic interface most long-time RefWorks users are familiar with. Legacy RefWorks will continue to be supported.

New RefWorks has a streamlined, responsively-designed interface. You MUST use your institutional ID to create an account. It easy to export all of your references, file attachments, and folders from Legacy RefWorks. 

Learn more about RefWorks.

Faculty of 1000 (F1000) Workspace

Sciwheel

Sciwheel is a platform for scientists to collect, write & discuss scientific literature. References and full-text PDFs can be imported from databases such as PubMed. Sciwheel also includes tools for annotating and sharing PDFs. The plugin for Microsoft Word allows users to insert citations into documents and create formatted bibliographies. To enable roaming access, use your Einstein email address when creating your account.

Learn more about Sciwheel.

Zotero

Zotero is a free citation management tool that allows users to collect, manage and cite research resources. Users can also create collections/libraries for specific research projects, share data with collaborators, and generate bibliographies.

Learn more about Zotero.

EndNote Information

The EndNote Research Guide covers:

Resources

Installation tips

Before installing or upgrading

  1. Check EndNote's Compatibility & Requirements page to make sure your operating system and word processor are compatible with the new versions. 
  2. It is best practice to uninstall older versions of EndNote before you install a new one. Be sure to back up your libraries, custom styles, filters, or connection files before upgrading.
  3. The easiest way to backup your library is to go to File > Compressed Library > Accept default settings. This will create a compressed version of your Library, including all file attachments. The file will have a .enlx extension.
  4. Be sure to exit all Microsoft Office applications before installing EndNote. After installation, open Microsoft Word to make sure the EndNote toolbar is installed and activated.
  5. EndNote X20 uses a new database structure. Learn more about converting your library.

Windows 

  1. After downloading the EndNote installer .EXE file, double click to begin the installation process
  2. Accept the default settings and agree to the license terms.
  3. When you open EndNote for the first time, follow the prompts to install program updates.

Macintosh 

  1. After downloading the EndNote installer .dmg file, double click to begin the installation process.
  2. The installer should open on your desktop.
  3. Accept the default settings and agree to the license terms.
  4. EndNote will walk you through the setup process.

If you have a new Mac with the Apple M1 chip, please follow these steps outlined in EndNote's Knowledgebase.

If you have technical questions, please contact EndNote Technical Support at 1.800.336.4474.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Nancy Glassman
Contact:
D.Samuel Gottesman Library
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
1300 Morris Park Ave.
Bronx, NY 10461
Phone: 718.430.3108
718.430.3108
Website Skype Contact: nancy.glassman